GLUTEN FREE

Since March 2009, De Halm’s gluten-free flakes have been packaged on a gluten-free packaging line.

This concerns the following flakes: maize, rice, buckwheat, millet, quinoa and amaranth. Every batch of gluten-free flakes we produce is tested for gluten before packaging. Once we hear from the laboratory that the flakes are, indeed, gluten free, they are packaged on the gluten-free line. In principle, therefore, flakes with a sell-by date from 1 March 2010 onwards are already gluten free. The gluten-free line is situated at a separate production location where no products are admitted that contain gluten.

COELIAC DISEASE

What is coeliac disease?

Coeliac (seeliac) disease is an intolerance to gluten. Gluten is a cereal protein found in wheat, rye, barley, oats (unless from a gluten-free oat chain), spelt and kamut.

In people with coeliac disease, foods containing gluten cause damage to the membrane of the small intestine. The intestine is then no longer able to work properly. A healthy intestine has a large number of folds and villi (finger-like projections) on the inside that together form an enormous area for the absorption of nutrients. The villi of coeliac patients cannot tolerate gluten. Gluten damages the small intestine membrane (villi atrophy), causing poor absorption of nutrients from food. The body needs these nutrients to function normally and, in children, to grow.

Gluten free recipe

Find here beautiful gluten free recipes

Go to gluten free recipes